home about smiles policies and procedures policies and procedures policies and procedures Early Years Foundation Stage

7 Key Development Areas

The EYFS is made up of seven areas of learning and development.

  1. Personal, Social & Emotional Development (PSED)
  2. Communication & Language (CL)
  3. Physical Development (PD)
  4. Literacy (L)
  5. Mathematics (M)
  6. Understanding the World (UTW)
  7. Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)

It is sometimes difficult as a parent or carer to remember all these areas at first and I was no exception. With a little help from a colleague we came up with a unique way of remembering the areas by providing each area with a word that sums up the area of development easily and in only one word! This of course is much easier to remember.

The Words are:

play - Physical Development
play - Communication, Language and Literacy
play - Creative Development
play - Problem Solving, Reasoning and Numeracy
play - Knowledge and Understanding of the World
play - Personal, Social and Emotional development


All these words are featured on my business cards, leaflets and website to help familiarise anyone with the words, therefore helping to remember the areas of learning and development.